Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: Activities > breadcrumbs: Clubs > breadcrumbs: National Honor Society >


Ajax Loading Image


New Members Inducted into National Honor Society

by Haiden Magnussen


Pierce High’s National Honor Society had its annual induction ceremony on Friday, January 27, in the high school commons. 

The night was started with a speech by this year’s president, Brielle Unseld, on knowledge. Four other speeches followed Unseld’s, each starting with a lighting of a colored candle signifying a pillar of the NHS. The first lit candle was the white candle representing knowledge, a yellow candle representing scholarship, a green candle representing character, a red candle representing service, and a purple candle representing leadership. The four other speeches were given by secretary Tristan Kuehler, vice president Dalton Svoboda, treasurer Haiden Magnussen, and member Kaila Spieker, respectively.

Unseld comments, “I was super excited when I was inducted into NHS as a sophomore, so to be able to give these new members that same feeling as well as showing them all the traditions we have makes it a lot fun.”

Following the speeches, induction commenced with a current member first signing their name into a book followed by the signing of the new member. The current member would then light their candle off the central white candle of knowledge, then passing that flame onto the candle of the new member. 

Current members include Colby Anderson, Benjamin Brahmer, Travis Emory, Ella Gaes, Kuehler, Autumn Lambrecht, Magnussen, Zachary Meier, Morgan Moeller, Maggie Painter, Abram Scholting, Amber Shefl, Spieker, Addison Sporleder, Matthew Steffen, Svoboda, Dawson Raabe, Unseld, Keenan Valverde, and Ashley Wacker. 

Pierce inducted 16 new members being seniors Luke Endorf, Carter Meier, Alena Peters, Keli Shermer, and Keaton Weeder, juniors Zakary Abler, Madelyn Hanson, Kaden Froehlich, Emma Risinger, and Peyton Wieting, sophomores Hadleigh Collison, Aubrey Hanson, Ava Knox, Natalie Kosch, Skylar Scholting, and Aylla Weeder.

Congratulations to all new members as well as to all the returning members. 


Pierce Public Schools 201 N. Sunset St. Pierce, NE  68767

402.329.6217 Fax: 402.329.4678

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Back To Top