Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: Activities > breadcrumbs: Clubs > breadcrumbs: National Honor Society >


Ajax Loading Image


National Honor Society Inducts New Members

The Pierce Chapter of the National Honor Society conducted their induction ceremony on Friday, January 31, in the high school commons. Since its inception in 1921, NHS is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. 

Following a brief welcome by this year’s president Sydney Erickson, short speeches were given on the foundational pillars that represent NHS including Scholarship, Character, Service, and Leadership. Speaking on the NHS criteria were Carter Rohrich, Carson Oestreich, Maiya Baumann and Jakob Edins. 

Baumann said, “National Honor Society really motivates students to be active in their communities and to work hard in school. It just gives them a little recognition, and it’s a big honor.” 

Returning and new members took part in signing the membership book. This was followed by a candle lighting ceremony and all members recited the NHS pledge. 

Oestreich said his favorite part of the ceremony is “The lighting of the candles because it is a good environment and the glow of the candles with the lights off is enlightening.”

Current NHS members are Hailey Abler, Colt Arnold, Maiya Baumann, Zoe Brenden, Jakob Edins, Sydney Erickson, Dalton Freeman, Emilia Goetsch, Elizabeth Hammer, Addison Johnson, Tanner Kuper, Gavin Larson, Faith Lubischer, Kailey Marks, Abby Meier, Garrett Meier, Kenzie Moeller, Carson Oestreich, Shawn Rinkel, Carter Rohrich, Halle Ross, Alexis Schnoor, Abygail Streff, Dylan Svoboda, Brett Tinker, Mark Venteicher, and Shelby White. 

Vice president Jakob Edins noted that being in NHS is a great honor and privilege. “It rewards the hard work and dedication that I have put into my schoolwork. National Honor Society values leadership and character within the school.”

New inductees include sophomores Taylor Compton, Christopher Efta, Sarah Fenton, Marlie Kroupa, Larissa Meier, Ritter Oestreich, Alexus Sindelar, Gina Wragge, and Shawn Zellmer. Juniors who are new members are Luke Collison, Logan Moeller, Sarah Miller, Tristan Miller, MacKenzie Peters, Tyler Race, Chaden Roth, and McKenna Shonka. New members who are seniors are Weston Neitzke and Klarissa Norris. 

Returning member Brett Tinker decided to be a part of NHS because “My siblings all did it so I felt like I should follow in their footsteps. It’s an honor and achievement.” 

Today, it is estimated that more than one million students annually participate in activities of NHS, and chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories, and Canada.


Pierce Public Schools 201 N. Sunset St. Pierce, NE  68767

402.329.6217 Fax: 402.329.4678

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Back To Top